Overall 2022 Result
Past Results
Individual Ward Results (TBC):

Overall 2022 Result

Council-Wide Results

Much of a muchness for both the SNP and Labour in Falkirk, where slight shifts in their respective votes had no net effect on seats, still coming out at 12 and 9 respectively. Losses then were for the Conservatives, who slipped back into third place in vote terms, and lost two of their seats.

Those went directly to two Independents – one who’d missed re-election in 2017, and another who had been an SNP councillor through the previous term. Comparatively modest growth for the Greens here, and an unsurprisingly muted performance for the Lib Dems on their first appearance at a full local election here since 2007.


After the election, an SNP minority administration was formed.

Interactive Map


Falkirk was historically the south-eastern portion of the county of Stirling, serving as a major and early industrial centre. With the town of Falkirk itself positioned on relatively flat land near to where the River Forth widened into the Firth, it became home to one terminus of the Forth and Clyde Canal, which helped drive that early industry. Major industry survives to the modern day, particularly with the oil refinery at Grangemouth. By the 1973 Local Government Act, the area was spun off from the wider Stirling County into its own District in the Central Region, absorbing the Bo’ness area from West Lothian at that point. It kept that shape after the 1994 reform created a single tier of local governance.

The industrialised character of Falkirk naturally inclined it towards Labour for much of the 20th Century, though like neighbouring Clackmannanshire it was an early area of SNP growth. The disjointed Clackmannan and East Stirlingshire constituency won by the SNP in both 1974 elections included the area to the north (Larbert and Stenhousemuir) and South (Polmont and Braes) of Falkirk town. They also won majority control of the District Council in 1977, which otherwise saw Labour majorities and leads through its existence and into the current era.

Labour famously mis-stepped here ahead of the first Holyrood election in 1999 by refusing to nominate Falkirk West MP Dennis Canavan as their MSP candidate. He stood and very easily won election as an Independent at both that election and in 2003. When he retired in 2007 the seat then went to the SNP and has remained with them since since, joined by its East counterpart in 2011 and the Westminster seat in 2015.

Previous STV Elections