Current Situation

There are 32 local councils (officially, local authorities) across Scotland, consisting of a total of 1,227 elected councillors. Given the number of councillors, there’s usually a lot more movement in seats in between elections than is the case for parliamentary seats. The current seat numbers for each council, showing changes vs 2017, are;

Breakdown of current “Others”;

  • Aberdeen, Labour group currently suspended from party.
  • Aberdeenshire, a former Conservative represents the Scottish Libertarian Party (Right)
  • Dumfries and Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway Socialist Group, formed of 2 councillors, one elected Independent one elected Labour (Left)
  • East Ayrshire, Rubbish Party (Local issues)
  • Orkney, Orkney Manifesto Group (Centre-Left Localist)
  • West Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire Community Party (Left Localist)

2017 Results

The most recent election to Scottish Councils took place on the 4th of May 2017. Further detail is available on the dedicated 2017 election page. As originally elected the seats were;

Past Results

The following chart shows the seats won at each set of council elections since the current councils were created in the early 90’s – it does not account for any changes that took place in the middle of a term. Parties are displayed in their current vote share order. Note that elections before 2007 used the non-proportional FPTP voting system.

Electoral System

Elections to local councils in Scotland use the partly-proportional Single Transferrable Vote (STV) system. Each council area is divided into a number of wards, elected a handful of councillors – mostly 3 or 4, though changes in the law mean some wards can have as few as 1 or as many as 5 councillors. Voters mark candidates in order of preference 1, 2, 3, etc, and votes are transferred over a number of count stages until all seats have been filled. There’s a full explanation of how that system works on its own page here.

Upcoming By-Elections


The boundaries for Scotland’s 32 councils are shown below. Boundary maps for the wards within each council are available on the relevant 2017 results pages.