UK Parliament

Current Standing

Scotland elects 59 of the 650 seats in the UK parliament at Westminster. The current seat distribution is;

The Conservatives were the largest party across the UK as a whole, forming a majority government.

The most recent election to the UK parliament took place on the 12th of December 2019. There has been no change to the seats as elected, though note that Dunfermline and West Fife MP Neale Hanvey is an Independent. He was suspended from the SNP during the campaign, but it was too late to remove him from the ballot and he thus remained listed as SNP on polling day.

Further detail is currently available on the GE19 Hub, with full results to be added to the website over the coming days.

Electoral System

Elections to the UK Parliament are conducted via First Past the Post (FPTP). Most voters will be familiar with how FPTP works. Scotland is divided into 59 constituencies each containing a roughly equal number of voters. Voters cast their ballot for a single candidate, and the candidate that wins the most votes wins the single seat available.

The current boundaries for the Scottish constituencies in the UK Parliament are shown below.